Anxiety consumes me.

Have you ever felt so anxious that you couldn’t breathe? That you couldn’t eat or sleep? Like there’s a 10 pound weight on your chest? I don’t know what triggers it exactly, usually feeling really insecure, but it’s happened for as long as I can remember. It can be extremely debilitating, some days more than others. It ruins plans, dates, trips. When it hits I feel like I can’t move, I almost always cancel plans and stay in bed. I wish I could control it, or atleast avoid the cause completely, but I’m stuck… can’t move, can’t breathe, can’t eat… Unless I get really really lucky and anxiety decides not to visit that day; or slightly less lucky, and it’s mild enough that I can somewhat ignore it.

6 thoughts on “Anxiety consumes me.

  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who
    had been doing a little homework on this. And he actually
    ordered me breakfast simply because I found it
    for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this issue here
    on your internet site.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes. Often.
    I have a hard time being alone for a long time, especially at night. I get nervous and worried, which turns into full blown anxiety. I can’t control it and can’t explain what I’m feeling when it’s happening.
    You aren’t alone in it. When it’s happening, try to force yourself to breathe, even if its hard. Put on relaxing or soothing music- something that brings comfort to you in other times. Find 5 things that are true, factual, positive statements. “I am alive, I am safe, i am at home..etc” and they will slowly calm you down.
    Or just lock all of the doors, leave all the lights on, grab your pups and sob uncontrollably into your pillow like I do. Sometimes that’s the only escape, too.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. whatever works (that’s safe and constructive!). cleaning is definitely a resource for me, too.
        last week, actually, my husband was away and i was having a panic on the phone with him and he kept saying “WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO?” and i just kept saying “I dont know, i dont know just be here.” and immediately after hanging up I flailed myself on the couch, teenager style. but it helped. i sobbed until i couldnt anymore and it helped.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

