Relationships are hard…

The one thing I think everyone (including myself) has yet to learn is that relationships are hard. I’ve had a pretty rough last few days with my SO, and I have to tell you that it takes a lot out of me. My philosophy has always been that you can’t let them see how much the situation is really bothering you, even if it is a lot; and I know that’s terrible advice but if I don’t act invincible then is he really going to take me seriously?

I guess I’m still learning is that if I don’t tell him how I’m feeling there’s no way for him to know; he’s not a mind reader & neither am I. However what I’m struggling with is the part where I actually tell him how I’m feeling, and let’s be honest sometimes he doesn’t want to hear it so I don’t get to; and that’s what’s so hard for me. When he just shuts me down why would I want to continue to try to explain how he’s making me feel? I’m terrible at hiding my feelings… so when I don’t get to share what I feel it slowly eats me alive.

I mean, I like to believe that I’m tough and nobody can hurt me but realistically I wear my heart on my sleeve and it be a blessing or a curse, depending on the situation I’m in. I guess I just have to figure out when it’s time to cage my heart and when it’s time to use it. Balance, communication and trust are key to make this all work out for me, and it looks like I’ve got two out of three down. That’s good though, right?

4 thoughts on “Relationships are hard…

  1. girl. i’ve been in your shoes too many times. tell it. share it. speak it.
    holding onto your feelings (even though this is easier to do) will only brew worse feelings. it makes us those crazy women who bring up the fact that our boyfriends/husbands didn’t put away their dirty bowls four years ago and how you can’t stand it anymore (when we waltz in and clean up after them without ever mentioning it). it isn’t RIGHT to keep it in. if you are with someone, they need to care for your concerns. nobody wants to hear they’re hurting another person, but if they are.. and they care for you.. they need to hear it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

